Frustrated Momma Syndrome

 

Is that a real thing?  I don’t know, just thought of it and I’m going with it.  We are in week two of school.  I have two that started a new school last week.  So far so good.  Although we didn’t realize until Thursday that my son had been arriving to class 15 minutes late every day!  How’s that?  Yeah, somewhere along the road I should have known that the “mid-level” grades (6,7,8) start earlier than K-5.

Okay, a little bump in the road there, now we got it.  My son managed to get out of about an hour of Math class over the week.  While getting these two settled into their new school, with all the paperwork coming home to sign and figuring out start times, I also had an eager eight year old at home wanting to start her homeschooling.  While also needing to do something with the almost six year old who is Kindergarten age this year, and at the same time dealing with an active three year old, and a walking 11 month old , and a house to keep up!  How to do it all?

I’m telling you, today I am so tempted to march my son over to our local school and sign him up for Kindergarten.  I think this is a pretty common feeling for many home school mommas.  Whether I think that is the best place for him or not, sometimes if feels like the best place for Mom just to get one more out of the house for my sanity.

With school also comes a whole other level of work and responsibilities.  Paper work, getting little kids dressed and out the door to drop off at school.  Pick up at school, homework, more paperwork to sign and return, parent-teacher meetings, volunteering, worrying that the child is going to spill lasagna all over his clothes at school or have trouble using the bathroom alone (yes even at six), and the list goes on.  This is not about homeschool vs. public school and which is better.  But we all have to make the decisions for our children and our family what is best for us.  So far…I plan to keep him home this year.

So here I am getting frustrated and needing to step back and figure things out.    People ask me all the time how I do it with eight kids.  Probably just one day at a time like most mothers.  Little kids are a handful, babies need attention and diaper changes, messes need to be cleaned up..CONSTANTLY.  Housework needs to get done sometime, and then, … they are all hungry, ALL   THE   TIME.  Or so it seems.  Shopping, meal planning (or at least coming up with something for dinner), then there will be sports or school activities, shopping for clothes, and the list goes on and on.

I don’t want to neglect mentioning my older kids.  My oldest just started his Senior year this week which is CRAZY!  Not sure how my baby boy is almost all grown up and will probably be out of the house before long.  My second oldest is homeschooling and is a Sophomore this year.  She has been really good so far about staying on top of her studies and being a huge help with the kids.  I can actually take kids to school without having to load all the little kids up for the trip.  I’ve been there, done that.  I remember many stressful mornings of loading up babies and toddlers to make trips to and from school to get kids.  I still take one or two with me here and there when it’s convenient though.

So yeah.  Today I’ve been feeling a bit frustrated and overwhelmed.  Having a hard time being nice to everyone and figure out how to be productive as well.  I hope you all are having a better day, but if not, you know that you are not the only one trying to keep it all together.  Some days are a success just because there were no major catastrophe’s and no one is injured or starving.  Then there is tomorrow.  There is hope.  🙂

Update on today.  I’m not feeling as frustrated as I was when I first sat down to write, and I’m applying to try to get my Kindergartener into the same school as the older kids in case a spot opens up.  So we will see what happens with that.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    hay veronica the both of us here are praying for you to keep your kool. but we have been there . but not with *8 of course but all the daily situations that seem to replay all the time . so hang in there and continue to do what your doing and god will give you strength to continue through the rest of yhe days chores too.

    Like

    1. Thanks Anonymous. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

